Independent cost guide · No clinic owns this siteHow we source costs
Dental Implants Cost
Home / Cost guides / Treatment options
Treatment options

All-on-4 Final Bridge: Acrylic vs Zirconia Cost and Durability

The final bridge is the biggest material decision in an All-on-4 plan. Zirconia costs thousands more per arch. Here is what the extra money buys, according to published prices and the clinical studies.

Researched October 202610 min read11 sourcesDentalImplantsCost.co research desk

The short version

  • One 2026 US price model lists an acrylic (PMMA) All-on-4 arch at $15,000–$25,000 and a monolithic zirconia arch at $25,000–$38,000, so zirconia adds about $5,000–$13,000 per arch.1
  • In Mexico, a marketplace guide puts the zirconia premium at $2,000–$5,000 or more per arch on top of $5,680–$13,570 per arch overall.2
  • A 2023 review of full-arch monolithic zirconia bridges found 97.23% average survival over a mean 49.7 months of follow-up.3
  • Acrylic wears faster, about 0.2–0.3 mm a year in literature summarized by one case report, but it is cheaper and easier to repair than porcelain.4
  • Very low All-on-4 quotes often cover only the temporary arch, so check that the final bridge and its material are written into the price.1

Most All-on-4 plans involve two sets of teeth. The first is a temporary acrylic arch, often fitted on surgery day, which you wear while the implants fuse with the bone.1 That fusion takes roughly three to nine months.5 The second is the final bridge, and that is where the material choice comes in. This guide compares the two most common final options: an acrylic hybrid (acrylic teeth and pink gum on a metal or reinforced framework) and zirconia. For the full procedure price, see the All-on-4 cost page.

What "acrylic" and "zirconia" mean on a quote

Acrylic hybrid bridges are made from acrylic resin, often PMMA, usually over a metal bar or framework. PlacidWay’s Tijuana guide calls a high-quality acrylic hybrid "the standard and most affordable option."6 Acrylic is softer than ceramic, which makes it easier to adjust, but it wears over time.4

Zirconia bridges are milled from a solid block of high-strength ceramic, sometimes with a thin layer of pink porcelain at the gumline. Monolithic (one-piece) zirconia is the version most published price lists refer to.1 Marketplace guides describe it as more durable and more natural-looking than acrylic,2 but it is harder to modify once made, and larger repairs go back to the lab.3

Quotes may also mention porcelain-fused-to-metal full-arch bridges. These are less common in All-on-4 marketing and none of the price sources reviewed here list them separately.

What each costs per arch

MarketAcrylic hybrid, per archZirconia, per archSource type
United States$15,000–$25,000$25,000–$38,000Modelled price guide1
Mexico (national)$5,680–$13,570 overall; zirconia adds $2,000–$5,000+Marketplace guide2
Tijuana$7,000–$12,000; acrylic at the lower end, zirconia at the higher endMarketplace guide6
ColombiaAbout $5,500–$9,500 depending on city; material not specifiedMarketplace guide7
Medellín (one clinic)COP 28,732,664–33,840,693, about $9,127–$10,750Clinic listing89

USD, October 2026. Ranges, not quotes. COP converted at the TRM of COP 3,148.02 per dollar on October 28, 2026.9 Only the US source splits the price by material.

Two caveats. First, the US figures are a model, not a survey: the publisher scales a national range by state, rates its own confidence at 59 out of 100, and does not disclose a sample size.1 CareCredit’s cost study, by contrast, lists a single All-on-4 figure of $15,176 without a material split,10 which sits at the bottom of the acrylic range above. Second, most marketplace listings abroad give one range and leave the material to the treatment plan. PlacidWay’s Mexico guide says a full plan should list the bridge material, the implant brand and itemized costs for the temporary and final prosthetics.2 If it does not, ask.

Check the final bridge is in the price

RealDentalCosts notes that All-on-4 quotes far below $15,000 in the US often price only the temporary arch and bill the final prosthesis, sedation or extractions separately.1 The same logic applies abroad: a low quote with no named final material may be a quote for acrylic, or for the temporary only.

Durability: what the studies show

Zirconia

A 2023 systematic review in Prosthesis pooled seven retrospective studies of complete-arch, screw-retained monolithic zirconia bridges on four to eight implants. Average survival was 97.23% over a mean follow-up of 49.7 months.3 Zirconia is not chip-proof, though. In one five-year study discussed in the review, 30.4% of 92 zirconia bridges had small chips that were polished out and 17.4% needed a lab repair.3 The review also reported framework fractures in some studies, mostly in cantilevered sections behind the last implant, and noted that loss of the filling material over the screw-access holes appeared in every included study.3 Its authors call for longer follow-up because the evidence is mostly uncontrolled and retrospective.3

Acrylic

For metal-acrylic bridges, the same review cites a study of 43 prostheses with survival figures of 83% at five years, 67.6% at eight years and 51.7% at ten years.3 Wear is the main issue. A 2025 case report in the South African Dental Journal, summarizing earlier literature, gives average acrylic wear of about 0.2–0.3 mm a year and veneer replacement typically every five to seven years; its own patient’s acrylic arch showed about 2.5 mm of wear over 13 years without implant or framework problems.4 One US price guide describes acrylic hybrids as typically refurbished or replaced at around 10–15 years.1

These figures come from different study designs and should not be read as a head-to-head trial. They do point the same way: zirconia tends to last longer before major work, while acrylic needs more maintenance but each repair is simpler. The case report notes that replacing acrylic veneers is relatively cheap and easy compared with porcelain.4

Comparing All-on-4 quotes? Ask each clinic to price the acrylic and zirconia finals side by side.

Compare quotes

Side-by-side trade-offs

FactorAcrylic hybridZirconia
Upfront priceLowerAbout $5,000–$13,000 more per arch in the US model;1 $2,000–$5,000+ more in Mexico2
WearAbout 0.2–0.3 mm a year in summarized literature4Very hard; can wear opposing teeth or a zirconia opposing arch3
Typical repairChairside or lab reline, tooth replacement, refurbishment4Polish small chips; larger chips or fractures go to the lab3
Replacement intervalRefurbish or replace around 10–15 years, per one guide1Longer before replacement, but no reliable interval published1
EvidenceWear and repair data mostly from older studies and case reports34About 4 years of average follow-up in the 2023 review3

The review flagged one specific risk: in one study, the monolithic zirconia bridges with complications were those opposed by another monolithic zirconia arch.3 If you are restoring both jaws, ask the dentist how they plan to manage zirconia-on-zirconia contact.

Thinking about lifetime cost

The upfront gap is clear. The long-run gap is harder to pin down because no reliable published figure exists for what refurbishing an acrylic bridge costs, and it varies with how much work is needed. What you can do is ask each clinic, in writing:

With those answers, the math is straightforward: add the expected number of refurbishments over 15 or 20 years to the acrylic price and compare with the zirconia price. Implants themselves can last decades with good hygiene,5 so the bridge is the part most likely to be replaced. The full-mouth cost page covers two-arch budgets.

If you are treated abroad

Full-arch work usually means two trips, one for surgery and the temporary and one for the final bridge.11 RealDentalCosts notes that even when a clinic redoes warranty work for free, you still pay the flights and hotel.11 Factor that into the repair question, especially for a bridge you expect to need refurbishing. A dentist who has examined you decides whether full-arch implants are right for you.

Which one fits which situation

There is no universal answer, and the choice depends on your bite, your opposing teeth, the space available and your budget. These are common lines of reasoning, not recommendations for your case:

If you are looking at Colombia, see the Medellín destination page and the sister site MedellinDentalImplants.co. For more on full-arch prices, the sister site AllOn4Cost.co goes deeper, and the cost-factors guide explains the other line items.

Get numbers tied to your case

Tell us what you need and we can route your request to up to 3 matching providers, so you can compare itemized quotes without filling out the same form three times.

Compare quotesSee what affects cost

Quick answers

How much more does a zirconia All-on-4 bridge cost than acrylic?

A 2026 US price model puts the difference at about $5,000–$13,000 per arch.1 A Mexico marketplace guide puts the premium at $2,000–$5,000 or more per arch.2 Ask each clinic to quote both materials side by side.

How long does an acrylic All-on-4 bridge last?

One price guide says acrylic hybrids are typically refurbished or replaced around 10–15 years,1 and literature summarized in a 2025 case report suggests veneer replacement every five to seven years.4 Your bite and hygiene affect this.

Is zirconia unbreakable?

No. A 2023 review found 97.23% average survival for full-arch zirconia bridges over about four years, but chips and some framework fractures were reported, including small chips in 30.4% of bridges in one five-year study.3

Is the temporary bridge the same as the final one?

No. The temporary is usually an acrylic arch worn while the implants heal, which takes roughly three to nine months.15 Make sure your quote names the final bridge and its material.

Can I start with acrylic and upgrade to zirconia later?

It may be possible, since the implants stay in place and only the bridge changes, but not every clinic offers it. Ask in advance what the upgrade costs and whether the clinic keeps the digital design so a new bridge can be made.

Sources

  1. RealDentalCosts (comparison site): All-on-4 cost by state and bridge material (reviewed May 2026; modelled estimates). realdentalcosts.com
  2. PlacidWay (medical travel marketplace): How much is All on 4 Dental Implants in Mexico? (reviewed June 2025). placidway.com
  3. Vozzo LM, Azevedo LP, Fernandes JCH, et al. The Success and Complications of Complete-Arch Implant-Supported Fixed Monolithic Zirconia Restorations: A Systematic Review. Prosthesis 2023;5(2):425–436. mdpi.com
  4. Mpungose SK, Singh AK, Sykes LM. A 13-year follow-up of a full mouth rehabilitation using a fixed PFM bridge opposing an acrylic veneered implant supported hybrid prosthesis. South African Dental Journal 2025;80(7):381–384 (case report). scielo.org.za
  5. Cleveland Clinic: Dental Implants. clevelandclinic.org
  6. PlacidWay (medical travel marketplace): How Much Does Dental Implants Cost in Tijuana, Mexico? (updated October 2026). placidway.com
  7. PlacidWay (medical travel marketplace): Dental Implants in Colombia, Medellín vs Bogotá vs Cali Cost Guide (price data verified June 2026). placidway.com
  8. WhatClinic (clinic directory): Dental Implants Medellín, clinic price listings (page cached October 24, 2026). whatclinic.com
  9. Portafolio: Precio del dólar hoy, TRM of COP 3,148.02 for October 28, 2026. portafolio.co
  10. CareCredit (Synchrony): Dental Implants Cost and Procedure Guide (2025; data from 2024 Synchrony cost study by ASQ360). carecredit.com
  11. RealDentalCosts (comparison site): Tijuana and Los Algodones dental work cost (reviewed May 2026). realdentalcosts.com

This article summarizes published guidance and prices for general information. It is not medical advice. A licensed professional who has examined you decides what treatment is right and whether you are fit to travel. Prices are published ranges as of October 2026, not quotes.

Related cost guides